SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Trip Insurance: Worth It or Waste of Money?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Trip Insurance: Worth It or Waste of Money? Login/Join 
Eschew Obfuscation
posted
The wife and I are planning to go to Glacier Nat'l Park this Fall.

My job situation makes any long-term planning risky, so I was thinking of purchasing trip insurance in case we need to cancel.

I've never used trip insurance before and don't know if it's worthwhile or a waste of money.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

“Civilization is not inherited; it has to be learned and earned by each generation anew; if the transmission should be interrupted for one century, civilization would die, and we should be savages again." - Will Durant

Posts: 6403 | Location: Chicago, IL | Registered: December 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
A Grateful American
Picture of sigmonkey
posted Hide Post
If you have no assurance that you can make the trip, than the insurance you spend would be worth covering the "asset" you risk losing.

Short answer in your case. Yes.

"the meaning of life, is to give life meaning" Ani Yehudi אני יהודי Le'olam lo shuv לעולם לא שוב!

Posts: 43881 | Location: ...... I am thrice divorced, and I live in a van DOWN BY THE RIVER!!! (in Arkansas) | Registered: December 20, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Yellow Jacket
posted Hide Post
Before you purchase the insurance make sure you understand exactly what situations will be covered for cancellation.

God's mercy: NOT getting what we deserve!
God's grace: Getting what we DON'T deserve!

"If the enemy is in range, so are you." - Infantry Journal

Bob
P239 40 S&W
Endowment NRA
Viet Nam '69-'70

Posts: 1099 | Location: Fayette County, GA | Registered: April 14, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
stupid beyond
all belief
Picture of Deqlyn
posted Hide Post