New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wood Turning Login/Join 
Works to Farm
Picture of Kyjondeere
posted
Any woodworkers out there that can provide input to a decent mini lathe? I want something just to turn small things like pens, lures, game calls, pepper mills and such. I’m a complete novice at this so I’m not sure what to look for. Reviews for such equipment is all over the place.

Posts: 597 | Location: Western KY | Registered: November 16, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Would you like
a sandwich?
Picture of Dreamerx4
posted Hide Post
I have a Jet 1221VS, and I believe it fits the bill perfectly for what you are wanting to do.

Woodcraft has a 10% sale a few times a year, I would wait for sale price.

I will say, the lathe was just the beginning... All the "stuff" that goes along with it really adds up. :-)

I have not used the Rikon, but if you truly stay small, it may be a good initial fit. Cost is less, but it lacks power.

Posts: 1044 | Location: Virginia | Registered: October 29, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Too old to run,
too mean to quit!
posted Hide Post
https://www.harborfreight.com/...bench+top+wood+lathe

Don't know if you have access to a harbor freight, or not, but the link above shows 2 of their lathes that sound just like what you described. Inexpensive but according to my experience, their stuff works pretty well.

Grizzly also has some decent lathes in many configurations sizes and prices.

I have been turning for quite a while and suggest you try a less expensive lathe as a start. If you like doing it, you will progress to larger and better lathes.

I just listed a full size Grizzly on Craigslist yesterday and a guy is driving 3 hours to look at it today. Not what you are looking for, but an example of the demand for lathes.

Elk

There has never been an occasion where a people gave up their weapons in the interest of peace that didn't end in their massacre. (Louis L'Amour)