SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    The BBQ Thread
Page 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 47
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The BBQ Thread Login/Join 
Savor the limelight
posted Hide Post
Probing in this case is not referring to sticking temp probes in. Probing to test doneness is the classic stick a fork in it. If it goes in easy and twists easy, the brisket is done.

I’d verify this with someone else because I’ll be doing my first brisket this week, so I have zero experience and I’m just parroting something I read in the internet.

Posts: 10824 | Location: SWFL | Registered: October 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
paradox in a box
Picture of frayedends
posted Hide Post
I only say temp probe as that is usually what is convenient. It can be a fork or thick toothpick. When your brisket is about 195 start sticking something in it to feel if it’s done.

These go to eleven.

Posts: 12407 | Location: Westminster, MA | Registered: November 14, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
McNoob
Picture of xantom
posted Hide Post
Having some guests over Friday for the best pork chops they've ever had Big Grin

"We've done four already, but now we're steady..."

Posts: 1721 | Location: MN | Registered: November 20, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Yes with putting a probe in to monitor temp but I don't recommend stick probing until it is 203-205F. No reason to stick a bunch of extra holes to let the juices out. Almost all of the top competition guys shoot for 204 so there is that, and yes the toothpick test is the final word, it should slide in like a room temp stick of butter.

The “POLICE"
Their job Is To Save Your Ass,
Not Kiss It

The muzzle end of a .45 pretty much says "go away" in any language - Clint Smith

Posts: 2876 | Location: See der Rabbits, Iowa | Registered: June 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
McNoob
Picture of xantom
posted Hide Post