SIGforum
The BBQ Thread

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/320601935/m/3590098874

February 17, 2021, 07:20 PM
trapper189
The BBQ Thread
Probing in this case is not referring to sticking temp probes in. Probing to test doneness is the classic stick a fork in it. If it goes in easy and twists easy, the brisket is done.

I’d verify this with someone else because I’ll be doing my first brisket this week, so I have zero experience and I’m just parroting something I read in the internet.
February 17, 2021, 08:54 PM
frayedends
I only say temp probe as that is usually what is convenient. It can be a fork or thick toothpick. When your brisket is about 195 start sticking something in it to feel if it’s done.

These go to eleven.
February 18, 2021, 06:32 AM
xantom
Having some guests over Friday for the best pork chops they've ever had Big Grin

"We've done four already, but now we're steady..."
February 18, 2021, 07:36 AM
bettysnephew
Yes with putting a probe in to monitor temp but I don't recommend stick probing until it is 203-205F. No reason to stick a bunch of extra holes to let the juices out. Almost all of the top competition guys shoot for 204 so there is that, and yes the toothpick test is the final word, it should slide in like a room temp stick of butter.

The “POLICE"
Their job Is To Save Your Ass,
Not Kiss It

The muzzle end of a .45 pretty much says "go away" in any language - Clint Smith
February 19, 2021, 02:27 PM
xantom

February 19, 2021, 02:47 PM
trapper189
Is that a dish bin? I've been using baking sheets for prep work, but I really need something deeper to contain the mess. My dad's birthday is next week and I've got a 20lb USDA prime brisket in the fridge.
February 19, 2021, 03:21 PM
xantom