SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    "The frame's so rotted-out I can stick a screwdriver through it"
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

"The frame's so rotted-out I can stick a screwdriver through it" Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
That frame probably started flaking years ago. In chunks. That would have been a good time to give you a heads up about trading it in or POR 15'ing it.

Definitely look elsewhere because they should have noticed that while changing the oil.

Posts: 2690 | Location: Baltimore | Registered: October 22, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Nullus Anxietas
Picture of ensigmatic
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by slosig:
Back when I worked in a shop in high school and briefly after college, this would have been squawked to the owner long before it ever got that bad.

Back when I was briefly in a service-oriented job we were expected to identify possible developing problems and appraise the customer. (*)

That's the thing. I'm not blaming the shop for the rust, but, I'm annoyed they failed to spot the problem earlier-on. ISTM something that bad could not have happened just over this [/i]last[/i] winter. OTOH, as I said: HRK's observations are valid, as well. Maybe it was stealth rust.

Doesn't matter. It is what it is and we'll deal.

(*) Ironically: When the business changed hands to owners who were more interested in sales of new equipment than the welfare of the customers, I was eventually "laid off" because I didn't get the hint and stop doing that. A completely astonishing turn-of-events to me, that remained a mystery until years later, when somebody who'd worked for a competitor at the time explained it to me.

"America is at that awkward stage. It's too late to work within the system,,,, but too early to shoot the bastards." -- Claire Wolfe
"If we let things terrify us, life will not be worth living." -- Seneca the Younger, Roman Stoic philosopher