SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Weed & Feed: I Think I Screwed Up Here
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Weed & Feed: I Think I Screwed Up Here Login/Join 
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted
I got a yellow bag of the Scott’s Weed&Feed for my lawn, my neighbor lent me his spreader and I put it down Thursday AM when the grass (cut a few days before) was nice and damp with dew and we aren’t due for any rain for 2 whole days (a miracle in this insanely rainy spring and summer here in PA).

I have never done this before and put down what I thought was a proper amount but came home and the lawn looked COOKED. Starting to get dried, dead looking sections and stripes already. I asked my neighbor and he thinks I put way too much down. Dammit, did I just kill my lawn? How bad did I screw up here?

This is from my LR window, it looks much worse actually than that closer up:

none of those dead/light areas were there this morning

Posts: 33769 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
It's not easy being me
posted Hide Post
Relax. Don't panic just yet. One good rainfall, and I think things will clear a bit.

Besides, Black will be along soon to provide his recommendations for new "classy" wheels for all those naked minivans parked along your road...

Posts: 2769 | Location: Middle TN | Registered: March 22, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Looks like weeds dying off. Give it another week or two and the grass will take over those spots. Did you follow the settings listed on the bag for the spreader you used?

Usually this time of year weeds are part of the lawn and you only notice them from afar because of the different growth rate of the grass. The feeding part of your treatment will help the grass take over the bare spots the dead weeds leave behind. Unfortunately dead weeds will be visible before the grass can grow over.