SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Charles Murray on the coming collapse of the college degree.
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Charles Murray on the coming collapse of the college degree. Login/Join 
stupid beyond
all belief
Picture of Deqlyn
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by flashguy:
quote:
Originally posted by ChuckWall:
The BA is now the equivalent of the modern High School diploma.
I think you must mean what a high school diploma used to be--the modern version isn't worth spit in many cases.

Regarding degrees, there are worthwhile ones and useless ones, and it's not just due to the subject matter--some of it is related to the quality of instruction and the effort required to earn it. Almost any degree that requires a lot of work by the student will have a few real applications that matter (but maybe not as many as there are such degree holders)--I suppose even one in Basketweaving.

I graduated in 1960 with a B. S. in Chemical Engineering and immediately was commissioned a 2LT in USAF, which made me a Radar Maintenance Officer (with no training!), and I served in related occupations in USAF for 15 years. During that time they sent me to get a M. S. in Industrial Engineering, which they then didn't make much use of, either. After 15 years as an officer (Captain) I was tossed out (didn't get promoted) and enlisted as a COBOL computer programmer--something that any GOOD high school student could learn, and many in USAF did) and I finished my 20 years doing that, followed by 26 more years in civilian life.

So--were my degrees worthwhile or useless? I never worked in either field, and found few opportunities to employ the specific knowledge imparted in my classes. Yet I did learn how to analyze problems, apply logic, and formulate solutions--all elements that were very useful in my later occupations.