SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Question about Social security
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question about Social security Login/Join 
posted
Here's the scenario . My Mom passed away Monday .Obviously her SS payment for November had already been direct deposited .I know that SS always does a " take back " for that month in the case of the death of the recipient . My sister , who had signature authority on Mom's checking account , closed the account on Tuesday and we payed some outstanding bills , etc.
Since there is no money in the account for them to take back , are they going to contact my sister and demand repayment ? Does she have any liability here ?

Posts: 4049 | Location: Down in Louisiana . | Registered: February 27, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of smlsig
posted Hide Post
First my sincere condolences for your loss...

As a pure guess since I have no direct knowledge I would say yes she does..

------------------
Eddie

Our Founding Fathers were men who understood that the right thing is not necessarily the written thing. -kkina

Posts: 6311 | Location: In transit | Registered: February 19, 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Redhookbklyn
posted Hide Post
While I cannot answer your question, my heartfelt condolences on the loss of your mother.

“There is love in me the likes of which you’ve never seen. There is rage in me the likes of which should never escape."
—Mary Shelley, Frankenstein

Posts: 1929 | Location: South Carolina  | Registered: January 01, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of 229DAK
posted Hide Post
I am very sorry for the loss of your mother.

That was her social security payment for October, wasn't it (paid in November)?

IIRC, what she was paid in November was her October benefit (and she was still alive for the entire month of October). SS always pays the following month.