SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Appears I go to school with a bunch of pompous, arrogant people (Rollins College)
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Appears I go to school with a bunch of pompous, arrogant people (Rollins College) Login/Join 
I Am The Walrus
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ZSMICHAEL:
My daughter who is a gifted tennis player considered Rollins. My impression is that you were mild in your criticism. They think they are the Harvard of Florida with the top notch sorority shit to top it off. She went elsewhere and was happy she did.

Not sure why they think that way. I'm only in my first semester and the academics seem fine and the campus is beautiful but not sure why they think it's so elite.

quote:
Originally posted by ss9961:
You had me at “Rollins”.

Damn. Didn't know the school had such a reputation.

quote:
Originally posted by Kevbo:
Be careful it doesn’t rub off on you

The most pompous thing I read in your story was “I have MBA after my last name....”

I get what you’re saying. But some of what you’re getting may be insecurity, which is magnified by working with someone a lot older and with a lot more experience

I went to law school under similar experiences to you...military, already a masters degree, much older than them”kids” right out of college. Some of those kids have become lifelong best friends.

I'm sure it won't rub off on me. I consider myself to be a pretty humble dude.

I said MBA just to give some smugness back to them and to let them know I've been there, done that and got the t-shirt.

I would much rather make friends than a list of people I'd never want to see again.

quote:
Originally posted by 0658:
I have been out to Rollins for my job and interacted with both students and administration. You are certainly right about the students but the administration seems to be more mature (although not less liberal).