SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Any resident MS Excel experts - needs some assistance
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any resident MS Excel experts - needs some assistance Login/Join 
Picture of JR78
posted
I thought I was pretty smart when it comes to spreadsheets in Excel, but I'm not. I'm trying to work in the MS Excel Time & Attendance template, but running into formula/formatting issues.
Anyone willing to help out?
Thanks

Posts: 1964 | Location: DFW | Registered: December 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of KurtZ66
posted Hide Post
I'm no expert, but can usually figure stuff out. What's the issue?

‘‘Laws that forbid the carrying of arms... disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes... Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man.’’

— Thomas Jefferson's "Commonplace Book," 1774-1776, quoting from On Crimes and Punishment, by criminologist Cesare Beccaria, 1764

Posts: 413 | Location: GA | Registered: September 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of KurtZ66
posted Hide Post
Just a hunch, but if you're trying to calculate hours based on clock in/out times, format the cells using he 24 hour (military time) format. When you add or subtract those, it gives you hours. That doesn't work for overnight shifts, however. For that you need a formula. See this link: https://www.techrepublic.com/a...orked-for-any-shift/

I don't understand why it's so complicated.

‘‘Laws that forbid the carrying of arms... disarm only those who are neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes... Such laws make things worse for the assaulted and better for the assailants; they serve rather to encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with greater confidence than an armed man.’’