SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Losing your identity. (Making changes in life) not identity theft
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Losing your identity. (Making changes in life) not identity theft Login/Join 
Alea iacta est
Picture of Beancooker
posted
I’ll be the first to say that this sounds very shallow, and soulless. But I have come to trust and respect you guys and so I would like to hear what you all have to say.

The greatest sorry/joy thread brought this back to my mind.
The end of December 2018, I left my job. Changed my life, moved, and am really quite happy.

That said, the day I quit my job, I kind of lost my identity.
I was a high ranking manager (third in line from the CEO) for a very large grocery distributor. I started out on the bottom at that company. Moved up again and again, to where I was in charge of all outbound product $800 million a year, a crew of 120 employees, inbound logistics, I covered the IT side of operations, as well as security and card access systems.

I was so proud of my job and my title. It was WHO I was. I felt so incredibly important. Without it, I feel like a nobody.

Has anyone else had an experience like this?

quote:
Originally posted by parabellum: You must have your pants custom tailored to fit your massive balls.
The “lol” thread

Posts: 4021 | Location: Staring down at you with disdain, from the spooky mountaintop castle.  | Registered: November 20, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Beancooker:
I’ll be the first to say that this sounds very shallow, and soulless. But I have come to trust and respect you guys and so I would like to hear what you all have to say.

The greatest sorry/joy thread brought this back to my mind.
The end of December 2018, I left my job. Changed my life, moved, and am really quite happy.

That said, the day I quit my job, I kind of lost my identity.