SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Question about property after divorce
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question about property after divorce Login/Join 
I Wanna Missile
Picture of tanksoldier
posted Hide Post
I suspect she doesn't have any legal claim on the house now, but you need to talk to a lawyer to be sure.

"I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight."
GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

Posts: 21542 | Location: Eastern plains of Colorado | Registered: January 25, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Sounds like she is trying to "influence you into giving her money".

I'd lawyer up. For stuff like this and Divorces in general a good lawyer is worth their weight in gold.

I'd also not say another word to her about it until you talk to your lawyer. Don't be confrontational or shady, just say "I'm waiting to hear back from my attorney" or she engages you on it.

I'd give you my personal opinion, but it's biased as I'm divorced too and it's not as valuable as the above advice.

Posts: 4591 | Location: Where ever Uncle Sam Sends Me | Registered: March 05, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I'm not an attorney but I do have a valid driver's license...and been through two divorces. I represented myself in the second one.

I don't read anything in this thread that indicates she has a valid claim and I assume a Judge signed a Divorce Decree and it was filed. She seems to think she can unilaterally reopen the Property Settlement. B.S.

Pay a Family Law Attorney a few bucks to review your Divorce Decree and then write her a letter. The end.

Posts: 1931 | Location: S.E. Michigan/Macomb County | Registered: October 24, 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
I believe in the
principle of
Due Process
Picture of JALLEN
posted Hide Post
If she has an interest in the house, there may be a title problem with the new mortgage.