SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I really want to start looking into the Linux world,
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I really want to start looking into the Linux world, Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
I'm far from being a Linux expert. In fact, I'm not even a very adept novice.

I ran Mint for several years then switched to the Mint rolling release (LMDE) as I had grown weary of installing the new releases when they became available. The rolling release would update your system automatically - a little bit at a time. That version of Mint (LMDE) was replaced with LMDE2 which required a completely new installation.

At that time, I experimented with several distributions but most were not rolling releases.

I finally settled on Manjaro (Cinnamon Community edition: https://manjaro.org/community-editions/ ). It is a rolling release based upon Arch Linux.

I've been running it for a few years without issue. It keeps itself undated so no periodic installations are needed. If I must run a Windows program, which is exceedingly rare, I'll do so via VirtualBox. I'm not a gamer so I use Linux for email, surfing the web, YouTube, and written correspondence and spreadsheets via the included Libre Office package.

Posts: 63 | Location: North Central PA | Registered: July 24, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Another issue going on is that the new dev community leadership wants the SW to support NSA backdoors in HW. I don’t care if trained squirrels develop kernel code. But keep the GDC out of our lives.

As for Linus being an asshole - I’m shocked. I’ve never seen an asshole in the high tech industry where I’ve worked for over 30 years. Let Linus take a break then get back to business.

Posts: 3953 | Location: UNK | Registered: October 04, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Nullus Anxietas
Picture of ensigmatic
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Jimineer: