SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Un-biased (I hope?) Basics of Nutrition
Page 1 2 3 4 5 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Un-biased (I hope?) Basics of Nutrition Login/Join 
posted
Similar to the fitness thread I started, let's talk nutrition. Nutrition for general health and to maintain a healthy weight. It doesn't matter to me how this thread drifts either so feel free to post about whatever nutrition-diet related topic you want. I have no formal nutritional background, so I claim no professional status on the topic at all (I'm just starting the thread), just a perspective from someone serious about fitness.

Nutrition is an extremely confusing topic for a number of reasons. In no particular order;

It is a relatively young science and not widely studied. Our society has "experts" who always talk to us about nutrition (doctors) yet they have little formal background in it (in no way meant to be an insult to MD's, I've heard many of them say the same).

The government via FDA puts out food guidelines, recommendations, and "pyramids." These guidelines keep contradicting themselves and changing. Major nutritional "common sense" knowledge keeps changing. For example, 50's- eggs and bacon a healthy start to the day. 70's-80's, fat is the devil and your arteries will clog and you'll DIE!! Eat cereal and use margarine (trans-fats) anything but fat. Late 90's (or early 2000's?) ooooppps, we um, totally screwed up that whole trans-fat thing, turns out butter and bacon is way better than artery scoring trans-fats! You get the point, we can go down this road with sweeteners as well.