SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Beekeeping 101
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Beekeeping 101 Login/Join 
Eating elephants
one bite at a time
Picture of ffips
posted
So, somehow I have gotten the itch to start beekeeping. Skip to the line of asterisks if you don't want to read.

Where I am at:

• I have read "Homegrown Honey Bees An Absolute Beginner's Guide Beekeeping Your First Year, from Hiving to Honey Harvest" by Alethea Morrison
  • I am about 1/4th of the way through "First Lessons in Beekeeping" by C.P. Dadant
  • Tomorrow the "Beekeeper's Handbook 4th Edition" by Diana Sammataro should be in the mailbox
  • Saturday I am attending an 8 hour beginner's class that includes time at hives
  • My jacket/veil arrived today
  • Gloves should be here before Saturday

I am excited and nervous about Saturday. It's one thing to watch videos, but actually being at a hive for the first time brings some apprehension. Some of my desire is to take a fear and conquer it. I am not talking about a paralyzing fear, but there is some fear there. Blame all of the TV and movies that showed killer bees. Smile

I want to do this to get past that apprehension and to be able to show my wife and boys that bees get a bum wrap. I also want to help the bees, I understand how important they are. Any honey would simply be bonus.

My request would be that for those who have or are keeping bees, would you please take a moment to share something you wished you knew early on but didn't? Would you share any stories good or bad about the process? We're your hives in your yard or far away? Are there any must have items that aren't mentioned in beginner information? If you got out of doing it, what caused that? Where in the country (on the planet) did/do you keep bees?