SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    What brand does the forum like for Hand Tools? More questions
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

What brand does the forum like for Hand Tools? More questions Login/Join 
His diet consists of black
coffee, and sarcasm.
Picture of egregore
posted Hide Post
Being a professional automotive technician, I buy mostly Snap-on tools despite the greater cost. I recognize that for the non-professional/homeowner this cost may not be justifiable.

A good screwdriver for the money is the Greenlee brand. I have some that I rarely actually use as screwdrivers, more often as pry bars, chisels and punches, and they are still holding up. Lowe's carries them (the last time I looked), but they are in the electrical department, not "Tool World."

The Kobalt line, also at Lowe's (made in Taiwan or sometimes China), seem OK. However, I needed a special purpose socket (½" drive, ½", 12-point, deep)for a 4.0L Jeep head bolt.

(The seven bolts in the top row)

The Snap-on truck could have been anywhere within 100 square miles, but a Lowe's was 2 miles away. I found the socket, but the counterbore inside was too small to accommodate the portion above the bolt head. Mad This may not be a concern for you if you don't have a 4.0 Jeep, but it pissed me right off.

Posts: 27951 | Location: Johnson City, TN | Registered: April 28, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of henryaz
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Excam_Man:
SK has nice socket sets.
Klein has good screw/nut drivers.
Knipex makes the best pliers.
Klien has some good electrical tools.
Snap-on, Mac, Napa for specific tools.
Gear Wrench for ratcheting wrenches.
Ridgid pipe wrenches.
KD tools and many others.

Pretty close to my list:
Wrenches (combo, DOE, DBE, ratcheting, adjustable), a mix of SK, Wright, and Armstrong
Wrenches (torque), SK and CDI (the SK's are made by CDI)
Sockets, SK, Craftsman
Ridgid for pipe, check
Knipex, fantastic pliers