SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Puppy Advice, Please
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Puppy Advice, Please Login/Join 
Picture of Delmag Tech
posted
Well, I went and did it. Ella Mae is a 6.5 week old Fox Red Labrador, and she comes home on 7/27. I spent a couple hours at the the home and played with Ella, Ella's mom and dad for a good long while and really felt good about them and the breeder. I had never heard of a Fox Red Lab before and was undecided on a yellow or chocolate when I found her.

I've been around friends' labs most of my life, but I've got zero experience with puppies or training. Maggie is going to help us out on a lot on that with her Perfect Puppy Package. But I'm on my own for the first week of Ella being home.

The first thing I'd like to know about is food. I want to buy her quality food and Orijen has been suggested to me, but by someone with a small dog. Any suggestions on a brand would be greatly appreciated. Also, how much will she need and how many times a day? Should I get her one of those bowl that force them to eat more slowly?

The next thing I'm unsure of is the crate. I was all set to buy a wood one that looks like it's a piece of furniture, and I was going to get a large one as she will likely be about 80 lbs. My mom suggested though, that a crate needs to not be too roomy because the whole point of potty training with a crate is that they'll not be inclined to pee where they are confined. Makes sense to me, but again, I'd like to hear from your experience. I suppose I can start with a small plastic one for now if need be.

Last question - It was suggested to me to get a bell and place it by the back door, and that I should ring it every time I take her out and she'll eventually learn to ring that bell when she wants to go out. Seems like a good idea. What do you think?

And onto the obligatory pics..

Ella

Ella's Dad

Ella's Mom