SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Cool things I'm only learning now ...
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Cool things I'm only learning now ... Login/Join 
Nosce te ipsum
Picture of Woodman
posted
1] *#06# brings up IMEI and MEID numbers on my phone screen.

2] Sprint and Verizon operate under the CDMA network (AT&T and T-Mobile fall under the GSM network). So if I can talk my m.i.l. into upgrading, her iPhone8 will work for me. Both use Nano-SIM and Sprint should be able to activate the new phone to my number.

Last week my SE went bonkers; the power button became unresponsive; I had another SE with 100% battery in the "electronics-in-waiting" drawer; after the SIM was squared away, I was amazed to have a "new" fully-operating cloned phone. iCloud backup was flawless.

Welcome to 1999, Woodman.

Posts: 8759 | Registered: March 24, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
No, not like
Bill Clinton
Picture of BigSwede
posted Hide Post
Wut?

Posts: 5317 | Location: GA | Registered: September 23, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of lastmanstanding
posted Hide Post

"Fixed fortifications are monuments to mans stupidity" - George S. Patton

Posts: 8522 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: June 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of maladat
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Woodman:
2] Sprint and Verizon operate under the CDMA network (AT&T and T-Mobile fall under the GSM network). So if I can talk my m.i.l. into upgrading, her iPhone8 will work for me. Both use Nano-SIM and Sprint should be able to activate the new phone to my number.

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but your info is out of date. Big Grin

Verizon hasn't sold CDMA devices for a while and won't activate then if you find one. I'm not sure whether it has actually happened or not, but they planned to have completely shut down their legacy CDMA network by now.

Everything is LTE now.