SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    I saved a house from fire
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I saved a house from fire Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by V-Tail:
I am not an electrician, but I would be leary of that. If they are going to use a space heater, which Skins has pointed out is a really bad idea, isn't it even more of a safety hazard to use it on a circuit like that, without a ground pin in the plug?

Not having a ground isn't really an issue, but if the outlet isn't new enough to have a ground, I sure wouldn't trust the old wiring!

Posts: 10052 | Registered: October 15, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Now and Zen
Picture of clubleaf206
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by OKCGene:
What are the odds that they did not have a working smoke detector?

I called and asked, my friend said yes, so I replied "Would you check while I have you on the phone?" Pushed the test button and I had them do a test with something actually smoking. It works. Then I checked mine, it works, too.

Posts: 12178 | Location: The untamed wilds of Kansas | Registered: August 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Now and Zen
Picture of clubleaf206
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Excam_Man:
Not having a ground isn't really an issue, but if the outlet isn't new enough to have a ground, I sure wouldn't trust the old wiring!

The new outlet has a ground, which I connected.

Posts: 12178 | Location: The untamed wilds of Kansas | Registered: August 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Now and Zen
Picture of clubleaf206
posted Hide Post
And, thanks for the attaboys, guys. It never hurts to help. Smile

posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by clubleaf206:
quote:
Originally posted by Excam_Man:

The new outlet has a ground, which I connected.