SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Back at work after 3 years
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Back at work after 3 years Login/Join 
posted
Finally back at work, after injuring myself in Feb 2014. Led to back surgery in Oct that year, and having AV Node Recurrent Tachycardia led to heart ablation surgery in Apr of 15. For good measure followed that up with a hip replacement in Nov of 15, something that had been coming for some time.

I was finally fit enough to apply for my medical in July of 16 and spent months on more doctor visits, gathering medical records and test results to submit. Took several months for the FAA to approve my medical, but they finally came through in Jan of 2017.

I started training in Feb, had a tougher time than I'd hoped (had to knock off a lot of rust after all that time) but was eventually able to get through the program. I completed IOE (initial operating experience with a Line Check Airman, i.e. instructor) last week and had my first trip last Saturday.

Like, Otto, I get to fly with my favorite Captain again, as I checked out in the left seat of the B757. I'd been a Captain in the B727 before they were retired, but only for about 6 months, and then I was excessed to the right seat of the B767. So its been over 4 years since I was a Captain.

It feels really good to get out of the school house and back on the line, and I just had my FAA medical renewed and my Cardiologist visit yesterday went well too, so I'm good for at least another 6 months, hopefully much longer. I don't take too much for granted any more health wise, as I never expected what seemed to be a fairly benign injury to morph into a 3 year odyssey of doctors visits, surgeries and delays, so I'm keeping my fingers crossed.