SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Question for Airline Pilots - MD80/88
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question for Airline Pilots - MD80/88 Login/Join 
Coin Sniper
Picture of Rightwire
posted
As a little background, although I don't work in the industry I have a degree in Aircraft Engineering, and have an avid interest in commercial and military aircraft.

On a recent flight on _______ Airline my flight was delayed due to maintenance issues on the aircraft that we would eventually take to our destination. After a 2hr delay we were told the aircraft was fixed and in route. When it arrived and taxied to the gate I noticed the port side control surface on the horizontal stabilizer standing almost straight up in the air and the trim tab also seemed to be at full deflection. The starboard side control surface was in a neutral position. This caught my attention.

As they moved the jet bridge and deplaned I watched the port control surface return to neutral, then back to this near vertical position several times. The starboard side never moved. No other control surface on the aircraft moved during this 3-4 minute time period. Finally the port side horiz. stab. control surface returned to full upward position and stayed there.

Eventually an older gentleman in a pilots uniform deplaned and I got his attention. I motioned him over away from people, gently nodded out the window and asked if we were still having issues with the aircraft. He said replied no. I noted that I had a bit of background and fly a lot, and have never seen that behavior in control surfaces before. At that point he gave me a 'shut up you idiot look' and told me that it is normal, the surfaces on that aircraft move deferentially, its normal. I told him that I watched that surface move between full up, and neutral and the opposite surface never moved. He gave me condescending smile and said "it's normal, it is how airplanes fly" and walked away.