SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Plumbers That Don't Solder Anything
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Plumbers That Don't Solder Anything Login/Join 
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted
Is this a thing now to use only the Sharkbite compression type stuff? Twice now I've had some work done in my house by a guy who goes to our church who is a plumber, he does great work but doesn't appear to ever solder anything? He's done a hose bib and a hookup to our fridge for water/ice that he had to do below in basement and both times he's cut the copper supply line but the T fitting that goes on is a compression, not soldered on. Is this stuff good to go? I have zero experience with it.

Posts: 33608 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Three Generations
of Service
Picture of PHPaul
posted Hide Post
IANAPlumber, but I LOVE sharkbites for re-work, copper or PEX.

Haven't had one leak yet.

Be careful when following the masses. Sometimes the M is silent.

Posts: 15181 | Location: Downeast Maine | Registered: March 10, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Raised Hands Surround Us
Three Nails To Protect Us
Picture of Black92LX
posted Hide Post
Work smarter not harder.
Shark bites just flat work and generally take less time then soldering.
Cost a bit more but on small jobs it is no big deal. Plumbing new construction not so much.

————————————————
The world's not perfect, but it's not that bad.
If we got each other, and that's all we have.
I will be your brother, and I'll hold your hand.
You should know I'll be there for you!

Posts: 25354 | Registered: September 06, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Get my pies
outta the oven!

Picture of PASig
posted Hide Post
I looked at both fittings and they appear to be what's called NIBCO PressSystem?

Posts: 33608 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: November 12, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of ibexsig