SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Plumbers That Don't Solder Anything
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Plumbers That Don't Solder Anything Login/Join 
quarter MOA visionary
Picture of smschulz
posted Hide Post
Big Sharkbite fan here.
If I had to do a major project with a LOT of work or new construction I'd say go for PEX.
My buddy is remodeling his house with a bunch of work and bought the tool and PEX (A) is awesome.
I used Sharkbite in a couple of bathroom remodels.
Both great products.

Posts: 22858 | Location: Houston, TX | Registered: June 11, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Raised Hands Surround Us
Three Nails To Protect Us
Picture of Black92LX
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by FRANKT:
quote:
Is this stuff good to go? I have zero experience with it.

Their seal relies on an O-ring. Would you want a new house with a couple hundred of them buried in the walls? But ain't they convenient...
No, I'm not a plumber

Plumbing a brand new house certainly not at about at $5+ per shark bite that would get costly. But the again some new houses have close to zero copper pipe and all PEX. But PEX is way cheaper than copper so the cost of the shark bites equals out.

And the repair or a few additions certainly would go with the Shark Bites.

I just replumed our cabin with PEX replacing the old PVC nightmare.

————————————————
The world's not perfect, but it's not that bad.
If we got each other, and that's all we have.
I will be your brother, and I'll hold your hand.
You should know I'll be there for you!

Posts: 25354 | Registered: September 06, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
semi-reformed sailor
Picture of MikeinNC
posted Hide Post
My only question is what is the lifespan of a sharkbite o-ring??

"Violence, naked force, has settled more issues in history than has any other factor.” Robert A. Heinlein

“You may beat me, but you will never win.” sigmonkey-2020