SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    50 Years Ago - Apollo Moon Mission
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

50 Years Ago - Apollo Moon Mission Login/Join 
Picture of fpuhan
posted
The week celebrates the fiftieth anniversary of the Apollo 11 mission that successfully landed an earth man on the moon - and returned him safely!

I graduated high school in 1969, earlier that year. I remember staying up all night during the earlier mission to circle the moon, glued to a little 9-inch black & white TV, tense with anticipation, waiting for communications to be re-established as the capsule exited the dark side of the moon.

With her parents, a girlfriend and I watched the landing. Despite my restless and sometimes irrational teen years, the space program had me captivated. For years, I remember telling people that rather than donate a dollar (or three, as it came to be) to the presidential campaign on my taxes, I'd welcome that offer if it were applied to the space program!

Many of you are too young to remember this moment. For many, myself included, this was man's crowning achievement.

https://www.nasa.gov/mission_p...ssions/apollo11.html

You can't truly call yourself "peaceful" unless you are capable of great violence. If you're not capable of great violence, you're not peaceful, you're harmless.

NRA Benefactor/Patriot Member

Posts: 2857 | Location: Peoples Republic of North Virginia | Registered: December 04, 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of fpuhan
posted Hide Post
Oh, if you happen to be in the D.C. area, you might make an exception to the "not visiting that cesspool" choice this week, as there will be a celebration of the Apollo mission and moon landing on the Mall:

https://washington.org/event/a...stival-national-mall

You can't truly call yourself "peaceful" unless you are capable of great violence. If you're not capable of great violence, you're not peaceful, you're harmless.