SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Excavators 101: Update page 4
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Excavators 101: Update page 4 Login/Join 
Non-Miscreant
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Bassamatic:
I've known a few people who have purchased excavators over the years and they have all regretted not getting a bigger one.

Are we talking about excavators, guns or gun safes?

Unhappy ammo seeker

Posts: 18387 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: February 25, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of ksss
posted Hide Post
In addition to my other interests I have owned an excavation company for 25 years. CAT makes some good equipment, so does Deere, CASE, Komatsu, Takeuchi, and on and on. The CAT dealer in my area is good, but they don't have the market cornered on good service or parts. Concerning mini excavators I have been running Taki mini excavators since the early 2000's. I cant say enough good things about them. I keep buying them because as a company we are more productive with them. I demoed a 305.5 last Summer, and it couldn't dig with the Taki which is a 2012 with 4K hours on it. If you want a CAT then get one, but don't think that being a CAT makes it more productive than other colors. The new CAT 306 I do think has potential to be a more productive mini ex than what they have ever offered before.

I think the color is less important than specing the machine correctly. Much depends on what your doing with it, you will likely want a thumb, quick coupler. Aux. hyd performance maybe important if you plan on running attachments. Do it right, think hard about what you want. Go to heavyequipmentforums.com Lots of smart excavators and a mountain of experience. Good luck

Posts: 390 | Location: idaho | Registered: May 13, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Ammoholic
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ksss: