SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Relocating to Roanoke--Area Assistance?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Relocating to Roanoke--Area Assistance? Login/Join 
Donate Blood,
Save a Life!
Picture of StarTraveler
posted
My daughter, a 2019 medical school grad, will be moving to Roanoke, Virginia, in June to start her residency at the Carilion Clinic, which is associated with the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine. Since I’m a VT grad (did my masters there in engineering), this dad is doubly proud of her.

Since she’s going to be there for at least three years and since she has a giant GSD, she’s looking to purchase an entry-level home (2-3 bedrooms/1-2 baths) in the area. Unfortunately, it’s been a long time since I visited Roanoke and I don’t remember that much about the city since I didn’t spend much time there when I attended VT in Blacksburg. She has a realtor, we’ve done lots of reading online, and I’ve researched the FEMA flood maps to keep her out of flood zones.

So far, we understand that SW Roanoke, SW Roanoke County, and Cave Spring are the most desirable areas for schools and personal safety, but most of the entry-level homes we’ve seen for sale in those areas are on the upper end of her prequalified price range (she’s trying to stay at $150k or below, though she’s prequalified for a good bit more) or they leave a lot to be desired. Salem’s an option and Vinton is a possibility, and we’ve seen a few possibilities in both areas. We’ve seen a number of nice, reasonably priced houses in other areas of Roanoke proper but are concerned about the crime rate (overall, the city rates an F) and the schools (Great Schools rates many of the city elementary schools between 2 and 4). However, I suspect that there are good areas and bad areas like most places. Are there specific areas of the city that are to strictly avoided or any good pockets where we might focus our attentions?