SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Question for the Docs Here
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question for the Docs Here Login/Join 
posted
When recently I had a gout attack and my knee was inop, my doctor suggested a large injection of something, probably cortisone. Big needle, big syringe. Before she inserted it, she backed off a foot or so and sprayed the area with something. I never felt the needle go in and felt only the pressure of the injection--no problem.

If they can do that, why don't they use that spray when inserting IVs and drawing blood? I've had IVs hit a valve in the back of my hand and the pain was memorable.

As a vet, I am not needle shy, having had hundreds of sticks, but why not make them painless if you can?

Tim

"Dead Midgets Handled With No Questions Asked"

Posts: 686 | Registered: March 17, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
His Royal Hiney
Picture of Rey HRH
posted Hide Post
Cost? Convenience? Contamination?

It's some more of numbing agent obviously.

I used to have plantar fascitis. But it was a toss up between the pain of the planta or the pain of the needle going in through the bottom of my foot.

Went to a second doctor, who first sprayed my sole then added morphine at the tip of the needle so she would push out morphine as the needle would go in. It was so much less pain from the injection. I wanted so much to go back to the first doctor and slap him upside the head.