SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Are you using protection on your remotes
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Are you using protection on your remotes Login/Join 
Fighting the good fight
Picture of RogueJSK
posted Hide Post
Y'know, I've been using remotes for several decades now, and I've never felt the need to wrap mine in plastic. Come to think of it, I've never had a remote get what I would consider "dirty" either. But I don't snack on the couch, and I usually wash my hands regularly too.

I guess if you're the type of person who routinely sits on the couch munching on Cheetos while flipping channels, and frequently have trouble remembering which hand is the orange one, then some protection is probably a wise move.

Or if you have young kids. Because little kids have an overwhelming urge to smear their grubby, sticky, snotty little paws on everything. Though you might as well wrap everything in plastic. Big Grin

Posts: 32506 | Location: Northwest Arkansas | Registered: January 06, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Knowing is Half the Battle
Picture of Scuba Steve Sig
posted Hide Post
I imagine the goo on my laptop keyboard is far worse. I live dangerously and have never cleaned any of my remotes. Every now and then I turn my laptop upside down and knock the crumbs out, its usually enough to start a nice stew.

My uncle has a 1969 Grand Marquis that looks pretty good, only because the factory paint color is basically rust. He has plastic seat covers on his seats that make it impossible to use the seatbelts.

Life will kill 'ya, but then again, I change diapers, have 3 kids in 3 different school rooms, exposed to a collective germ base of a couple hundred other kids, regularly go to courthouses and jails, and have a cat who immediately jumps on the kitchen counter to dig in the sink after using the litter box. I imagine my immune system is on point.