SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Wi-fi connected thermostats.
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wi-fi connected thermostats. Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Rev. A. J. Forsyth:
I should probably put this in the rant section, but I hate the damn things. I want the old school bell housing with the clear plastic cover that you turn. My house is 3300 square feet, 108 years old, and heated by a hot water boiler. Any and all monetary gains from lowering the temp are lost when you try to bring it back up. I have no idea why something as simple as a thermostat has to be so damn complicated.

When and how would I ever need to connect to it thru weefee?

I am a plumbing and heating contractor (hot water boiler heat) and I agree with you. No need for these except if you want to know what is going on while you are away for any period of time. Day to day regulation of hydronic systems is worthless.

"Once abolish the God, and the Government becomes the God." --- G.K. Chesterton

Posts: 3856 | Location: WNY | Registered: April 11, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I have two gen 2 Nest's, one on each floor. Love them. Would never go back.

Gen 3 is the current version.

Posts: 1804 | Location: Austin TX | Registered: October 30, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Go Vols!
Picture of Oz_Shadow
posted Hide Post
I like the look and the thought of adjusting while traveling, but other than that what's so great about them? I need some good excuses for $250 when the old one still works.

Posts: 17879 | Location: SE Michigan | Registered: February 10, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
In the yahd, not too
fah from the cah
Picture of ryan81986
posted Hide Post
I have this one and I like it a lot.

https://www.amazon.com/Honeywe...Amazon/dp/B00FLZEQH2