SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Defining Moments - Can you identify one in your life?
Page 1 2 3 4 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Defining Moments - Can you identify one in your life? Login/Join 
Three Generations
of Service
Picture of PHPaul
posted
As I was driving home today I was thinking back over my youth and a memory came up that I suddenly realized was a defining moment in my life.

I graduated from High School in 1968 and the draft was a fact of life, so I had pre-enlisted in the Navy. I had good enough ASVAB scores that I qualified for a guaranteed Advanced Electronics school and signed up for the requisite 6 years.

The moment I refer to came about 1/3 of the way through ET-A school in Great Lakes. I was called out of class (Oooooh, this can't be good...) and was directed to an office where an Officer asked me if I was interested in becoming a Communications Technician vs. an ET. After ascertaining that it was indeed one of the group of ratings in the Advanced Electronics field and I would complete my schooling as originally designed, I said "Sure, why not?"

So, entirely by chance (due, I expect, to a clean background check) I wound up in the Naval Security Group. So what, right? Well at that time and with the state of electronics development and physical size of the necessary equipment, 90+ per cent of NSG personnel were on shore duty. You pretty much had to specifically ask to be assigned to seagoing commands.

I wound up on shore duty in the Philippines and Japan and stateside in Maine before my first enlistment was up.

Had I stayed on the ET track, I almost certainly would have gone to a ship, would have mixed with an entirely different group of people, most likely would have bailed at the end of my first enlistment, it's highly doubtful I'd have ever gotten to Maine, and guaranteed I'd never have gotten to Winter Harbor, which means I'd never have met my wife and kids.