SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Roy Halladay Dies in Plane Crash in Gulf of Mexico
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Roy Halladay Dies in Plane Crash in Gulf of Mexico Login/Join 
Go ahead punk, make my day
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by parabellum:
quote:
Originally posted by ScreamingCockatoo:
This is why we'll never have flying cars as the same people that go all stupid down the interstate with sport bikes will do the same thing with aircraft.
This is why we can't have flying things.
As this incident demonstrates - they market it as a flying boat that operates like a car and can be flown like a jet ski.

Problem is it hurts a little more than a jet ski wipe out when you smack the water.

So much fail.

Posts: 45798 | Registered: July 12, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Ammoholic
posted Hide Post
quote:
I'm a pilot and aircraft owner.
I've seen what happens when someone does stupid shit with an aircraft.
A seaplane rating requires a LOT of training and hours.
But this is a LSA/SPL.
In other words, 1/4 the training the rest of us have to have.

I don’t know anything about what is required for an LSA seaplane endorsement, but a seaplane rating doesn’t take much training. I got my commercial single engine sea rating with 4.8 (including the check ride) in a J-3 Cub on straight floats. My commercial multiengine sea rating and CFI renewal which I did at the same time took only 6.9 hours (including the check ride) in an Apache on amphibious floats. Not a lot of training, and were I to decide to fly any seaplane in the future I’d get specific training in it.

That said, I think a lot of it comes back to a great poster that was around when I was learning to fly. It had a picture of a Jenny stuck in a tree. The text reads, “Aviation is not inherently dangerous. But to an even greater degree than the sea, it is terribly unforgiving of any carelessness, incapacity or neglect.”