SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    The mid size diesel pick up discussion
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

The mid size diesel pick up discussion Login/Join 
Green grass and
high tides
Picture of old rugged cross
posted
Let me say I am no expert on this subject. I have been less than an advocate of the latest iterations of the full size diesel offerings with their performance suffocation by regulation and the poor quality fuel available to them these days.
I would not buy a diesel if it was a maintenance money pit and headache. Which to me seem's to be the case in today's market and environment.

Having said that I am curious about all the mid size truck offerings and where they are at.

There is the Titan, the Colorado, Ram, Sierra and silverado and the F150.

What is the scoop on these rigs currently and going forward?

Things like performance, maintenance, longevity, price, etc.

"Practice like you want to play in the game"

Posts: 19160 | Registered: September 21, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
The diesel in the Titan is no more after 2019. By most accounts, it was a problem child in the early models.

Posts: 2169 | Registered: April 14, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Throwing a curve right away -

Buy used.

I have written about my Dodge Ram in the past, believe it to be a great truck, though not exactly “mid” sized.

It is a ‘95 Ram 2500, king cab, 8’ bed, 2WD, Cummins 12 valve engine, manual trans.

If your primary criteria is economy, I checked mileage about 5 years ago when I bought it. About 20 around town and 25.5 mpg on the highway.
Checked it a few weeks ago, since I had a day trip to NJ and back. Highway mpg now? 25.

“Yeah, that’s great but it’s an old truck, high mileage money pit”.