SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Best way to ship a car across country (NC->CA)
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best way to ship a car across country (NC->CA) Login/Join 
Picture of SJS
posted
My son is moving to California and needs to ship his car from the Raleigh, NC area to Nevada City, CA (between Sacramento and Reno).

He’d like it done in the next couple weeks at a reasonable price.

Anybody done this before and have some recommendations or advice?

Thanks in advance!

SJS

Posts: 682 | Location: NC | Registered: January 15, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
My best suggestion and maybe the cheapest is a road trip. If not then check out the Amtrak auto hauler train thing. I have no experience with the latter but have looked it up once or twice.

Posts: 3044 | Location: Pnw | Registered: March 21, 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Veteran of the
Psychic Wars
posted Hide Post
Auto train is a NO-GO. It runs from DC to FL only (it was a privately run op until Amtrak bought it).

A road trip is probably the lowest cost option. Barring that, hire a college student or a retiree to drive it for him.

Posts: 1295 | Location: The end of the Earth... | Registered: March 02, 2002Reply With QuoteReport This Post
The Constable
posted Hide Post
Shipped a 1965 Corvette across country 15 years back, in a covered trailer. Cost the Buyer basically a dollar a mile.

Posts: 7074 | Location: Craig, MT | Registered: December 17, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
אַרְיֵה
Picture of V-Tail
posted Hide Post
What type car?

הרחפת שלי מלאה בצלופחים

Posts: 30650 | Location: Central Florida, Orlando area | Registered: January 03, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
"The deals you miss don’t hurt you”-B.D. Raney Sr.
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by V-Tail:
What type car?

Probably not a 1970 Dodge Challenger...

Posts: 6301 | Location: East Texas | Registered: February 20, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post