SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    65 and on Medicare or getting close? Too much income will increase your premiums.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

65 and on Medicare or getting close? Too much income will increase your premiums. Login/Join 
posted
Do not let your Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) get over $170K, your Medicare premiums will go up for a minimum of two years. We just learned that today from our financial advisor, details here:

https://www.ssa.gov/pubs/EN-05-10536.pdf

There's no way our pensions and SS get us close to $170K, but we've been drawing $$ from our IRA (non-Roth) to fund lots of international travel and it's taxable income. Right now we pay $134/month each for Part B premiums, page 5 of the link shows how much it wwould increase up with MAGI over $170K. And we'd be stuck with this for two years before we can appeal! I'm not an expert (not even close), that's why we have a financial advisor.

This article addresses the issue and other Medicare concerns:

https://www.fedsmith.com/2018/...planning-retirement/

I miss JALLEN already, I know he could explain this better.

Posts: 15907 | Location: Eastern Iowa | Registered: May 21, 2000Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
I can't comment on this exactly. But my current monthly premium for health care is $3000+. So if medicare (when I get there) charges me $3000 more per year because I'm liquidating my IRA in a given year for some reason and exceed the $170K I would be happy as underneath I don't have that 3K.
Win win as they say.

“So in war, the way is to avoid what is strong, and strike at what is weak.”

Posts: 10996 | Registered: October 14, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of Krazeehorse
posted Hide Post
I'm safe. Big Grin

Be careful what you tolerate. You are teaching people how to treat you.

Posts: 5685 | Location: Ohio | Registered: December 27, 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post