SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Consequences for Unethical Prosecutors: Or not everything New York tries to do is bad.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Consequences for Unethical Prosecutors: Or not everything New York tries to do is bad. Login/Join 
Freethinker
Picture of sigfreund
posted
An opinion piece from The Wall Street Journal. Misconduct and incompetence by prosecutors is one of my pet peeves. And the reason I don’t put it more strongly is because there’s nothing I—or almost anyone—can do about it. It’s therefore like getting upset because it’s snowing or too hot.

They can’t be sued. New York lawmakers try a new approach to a vexing problem.

By John Grisham
Aug. 12, 2018 5:40 p.m. ET

The vast majority of prosecutors are honest, ethical professionals who play by the rules. During my 10-year career as a criminal-defense lawyer, I dealt with prosecutors daily and never knew one to step out of bounds.

But the great flood of exonerations have revealed the glaring truth that some prosecutors cheat and even break the law. It has been proved, repeatedly, that prosecutors across the U.S. have (1) concealed evidence that would benefit the accused; (2) fabricated evidence that would convict the accused; (3) made false statements to judges, juries and defense attorneys; (4) offered perjured testimony; (5) cut sleazy deals with jailhouse informants who will testify to anything in return for leniency; (6) employed junk-science “experts” who mislead jurors; and (7) intimidated witnesses.

What happens when a prosecutor is caught? Rarely anything. Civil lawsuits by the wrongly convicted are next to impossible because the Supreme Court ruled in Imbler v. Pachtman (1976) that prosecutors are immune from suit in virtually all cases, no matter how egregious their actions. Trial judges can impose sanctions for misconduct in some cases, but they almost never do, and state disciplinary schemes for prosecutors are generally ineffective.