SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  The Lounge    Why are cars not made to order?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Why are cars not made to order? Login/Join 
posted Hide Post
Essentially the cars that are already on dealers lots are cars the dealers spec'd out and ordered, unless they traded another dealership for.
Each car that is made, is made from a spec sheet. Whether the spec sheet is made by the dealer or a customer, it is still made to order.
Yes, you can only order packages now, whereas before you could order individual items. In some cases you can order some items individually.
Way back when, guys like Frank Sinatra or Clark Gable, could order any color of interior or exterior they wanted. I have seen an old Tbird that Frank Sinatra ordered from the factory that was a one of a kind color combo.
I worked in the auto industry for 31 years. Started when I was 19.

NRA Life Endowment member
Tri-State Gun collectors Life Member

Posts: 2794 | Location: Ohio | Registered: December 18, 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Hoping for better pharmaceuticals
Picture of AZSigs
posted Hide Post
quote:
My question in mind, why don't we order our vehicles and buy them the way we want them rather than purchasing from the lots?

Depending upon the model and manufacturer, you can do this. You will pay a premium and an extended wait but you get what you want.

Getting shot is no achievement. Hitting your enemy is. NRA Endowment Member . NRA instructor

Posts: 8753 | Location: Peoria, Arizona | Registered: April 02, 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
My question in mind, why don't we order our vehicles and buy them the way we want them rather than purchasing from the lots?