SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Kids not expected to read?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Kids not expected to read? Login/Join 
Picture of rtquig
posted
I work part time as a substitute teacher. This past Friday I worked at a high school and first block had Juniors that were honor students and were great kids. Last block of the day, I had Freshman Honor English Lit students. I gave the instructions to read an assigned book. About 1/3 of the class took out their cell phones and listened to the Audio book. They claimed that it was the way they could do it. Most times students will not tell you the right information.
At the end of the day, the teacher came back from a field trip and I questioned her on the students listening to the Audio book instead of reading and comprehending the words. She does allow them to listen instead of read.
It's just my opinion but I believe reading gives you a better vocabulary actually seeing the words. Maybe I'm just getting old, but I thought reading a book actually meant reading.

Living the Dream

Posts: 4015 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: December 06, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
eh-TEE-oh-clez
Picture of Aeteocles
posted Hide Post
You are probably getting old.

People learn differently. Some are visual learners, others are audio, and many will be tactile. Everyone will be some combination of the three, but usually favors one more than the others. Some of those kids are being lazy, I'm sure, but some may actually learn better listening than reading.

I'm a highly visual learner. Audio goes in one ear, out the other. I can listen to a song on the radio a thousand times trying to learn the lyrics, but won't get it right until I pull up the written lyrics. Lectures are worthless to me--I skipped almost all of my lectures in college. But I can read a book cover to cover the night before the final and recall details that are helpful to understanding the material.