SIGforum
I'm at a loss...

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/230601935/m/8550090134

September 30, 2017, 10:18 AM
Bullshooter
I'm at a loss...
I can't understand why America has their collective panties in a twist over kneeling, sitting or otherwise "disrespecting" the national anthem and/or the flag.

Don't they have as much right to demonstrate their dissatisfaction as others have to demonstrate their support?

I'm a Vietnam vet and I don't take offense. I'll always stand and render a hand salute, but this IS America.

"The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time by the blood of patriots and tyrants." Thomas Jefferson
September 30, 2017, 10:24 AM
Skull Leader
I agree with you, but I also think that we all stand for other nations' national anthems out of respect. If they want to protest they should do it off the field. It would be better for everybody.

In the end everything will work out. If the players want to protest on the field, that's fine. If they NFL want's to coddle that behavior, that's fine. If the American people turn off their TVs when a football game comes on, then that's fine too.
September 30, 2017, 10:24 AM
parabellum
If this has to be explained to you, I don't think it would do any good to try.
September 30, 2017, 10:34 AM
AirmanJeff
quote:
Originally posted by parabellum:

THIS ^^

I've given up trying to explain...

I was talking about this yesterday with my boss, and how I gave up my tickets for the game this weekend and I no longer consider myself a Ravens fan. The minute he said "well the thing is the original reason for this protest has been lost..." I instantly knew he was a moron and changed topics quickly. No point in even debating with him.
September 30, 2017, 10:38 AM
Ronin101
the act itself doesnt bother me as much as the media fawning all over them and continually attempting to inflame the situation.

Can't enjoy the game because of all the political BS. So I am not watching anymore.