SIGforum
What do people get out of sabotaging the lives of others?

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/230601935/m/7390057954

August 09, 2019, 05:54 PM
220-9er
What do people get out of sabotaging the lives of others?
quote:
Originally posted by Leemur:
Cut toxic people out of your life regardless the source of your association. Period.

The winner.
When you're a child, you don't really have a choice.
You do now. Use it.

August 09, 2019, 06:06 PM
GWbiker
quote:
Originally posted by 220-9er:
quote:
Cut toxic people out of your life regardless the source of your association. Period.

The winner.
You do now. Use it.

I did, when I graduated from High School. Two weeks later I was in the Army and I never looked back.

"Some people are alive today because it's against the law to kill them".
August 09, 2019, 08:46 PM
berto
Sorry man. People act toxically because it makes them feel strong and in control. It’s gives them a sense of power. Sometimes, like in the case of my aunt, there are mental illness issues as well. The best move might be to cut her out of your life. You’re an adult. You and your wife are the family unit that matters. Neither of you should have to deal with that kind of shit.
August 09, 2019, 08:53 PM
GregY
quote:
Originally posted by 220-9er:
quote:

The winner.
You do now. Use it.

Yes.

Some people are so screwed up they are not really capable of feeling things like happiness and joy. They hate themselves too much. They hate watching *other* people experiencing those things even more.

So they will do anything to sabotage the happiness and joy of those closest to them, their 'loved ones', aka family, and make everything about them and their (frequently imagined) suffering. Should the pity party ever be interrupted, there will be hell to pay.

Everything is about them, nothing is their fault, it's all on you for not loving/obeying/honoring/etc them enough.

You cannot change them, you can only escape. Good luck.