SIGforum
"Plant Based"

This topic can be found at:
https://sigforum.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/230601935/m/7280064364

November 22, 2019, 02:46 PM
PASig
"Plant Based"
Another annoying marketing term that everyone has jumped on now that I'm sick of hearing.

When you see BK and DD pushing "plant based", you know it's jumped the shark.

If vegans and vegetarians hate meat so much, so do we spend so much time and energy trying to make things that look and taste like it for them?

November 22, 2019, 02:57 PM
ArtieS
I worked in the upper reaches of the QSR industry for 7 years.

You do this stuff because: (i) a substantial number of customers want these products; (ii) having this stuff on your menu prevents the vegetarian veto of one person in a 4 person car making the entire group go somewhere else; (iii) look at the calorie difference between the meat option and the non-meat option which matters for a lot of people; and (iv) for the market differentiation / public relations / health press / government in your shorts / problems that activists put on the QSR industry.

These companies invest in these products because they matter to their business model. It's not any kind of a political statement.

"I vowed to myself to fight against evil more completely and more wholeheartedly than I ever did before. . . . That’s the only way to pay back part of that vast debt, to live up to and try to fulfill that tremendous obligation."

Alfred Hornik, Sunday, December 2, 1945 to his family, on his continuing duty to others for surviving WW II.
November 22, 2019, 06:00 PM
airsoft guy
Lots of folks are vegetarian or vegan not because they hate meat, but because they might have to live by that diet, health reasons, or something.

quote:
Originally posted by Will938:
If you don't become a screen writer for comedy movies, then you're an asshole.
November 22, 2019, 08:02 PM
apprentice