SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Diabetes and Life Insurance
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Diabetes and Life Insurance Login/Join 
Save today, so you can
buy tomorrow
posted
Sucks for me. I have been diabetic (Type 2) for about 10 years now. Even with oral medication and long acting insulin, my A1C is still not controlled. I like to eat. Too lazy to exercise. I should know better. I work in the health care field. So much about practice what you preach. (I do diabetic patient teaching sometimes).

Anyway, I tried to get a supplemental Term Life insurance with StateFarm. I have multiple car insurance, home insurance and other products with them. I currently have a 25year Term Life Insurance with Primerica. It will lapse in 2023. Also have 5x Annual Salary Group Life Insurance through my employer. Wanting to make sure my family is taken cared of on case something bad happen to me, I have decided to add a supplemental Term Life Insurance (TERM to lower the monthly premium).

Did my phone interview last week. Someone came to our house and took some blood samples. Got a call today from our StateFarm agent. She said StateFarm undwer writer refused to insure me because of my A1C level. I'm not sure what their threshold is, as far as when to refuse coverage. Said they may re-consider after a year, provided I lower my A1C. I should be getting a letter in the mail for the specific reason/s why I was declined, together with the lab result.

This is certainly a wake up call for me.

Posts: 1884 | Location: Las Vegas | Registered: November 05, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
Who controls your A1C? Get off your ass or be quiet. Insurance is an indicator. You're a ticking time bomb. I speak as diabetic who buried two friends last weekend.

Posts: 17140 | Location: Lexington, KY | Registered: October 15, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Fredward: