SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    technology vendors and their software development strategies
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

technology vendors and their software development strategies Login/Join 
Picture of jcat
posted
Damn you. Damn you to hell.

I'm a big time Cisco kool-aid drinker. All my certs are Cisco, I have worked on primarily Cisco gear my whole career.

I'm not a programmer, can't stand it, but I do understand that no code is 100% perfect. There will always be bugs, I get it.

But holy SHIT, can we please by this point in your release train (version 8.2.151!!!!) just get a version that does the following three simple things:

1.) Fixes a couple of major, catastrophic, service interrupting bugs

2.) Is compatible with all of your various wireless hardware (APs and controllers)

3.) Doesn't introduce MORE catastrophic bugs

How hard is that?! The bug we're running into now, has apparently been around since release 8.0.100, a LONG FUCKING TIME!

To boot, we were promised this code to fix the other issues we're trying to get rid of, and had the publish date pushed back on us for a month and a half due to 'extended testing requirements'. Yeah, lot of good all that damn testing did, considering this one bombs out too!

So here I sit, half past midnight, trying to implement your janky workaround just so I can stop the users in my Melbourne, AU office from complaining about the fact that they can't get work done on the wi-fi, which they primarily use for Facebook, Instagram, and YouTube (AVC is a mo-fo if you're trying to hide this stuff, guys).

What a wonderful night.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: jcat,

Posts: 9958 | Location: RI | Registered: October 08, 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Alea iacta est
posted Hide Post
Don't forget to ISE your NADs

Or some shit like that. I'm not a network nerd, but I know we have at least one Cisco SE on here..