SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    I have discovered a downside to hearing aids..
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I have discovered a downside to hearing aids.. Login/Join 
Happily Retired
Picture of Bassamatic
posted Hide Post
I've been wearing hearing aids for several years now and it's not just walmart. Just about any large public place, like say Home Depot, will become annoying real quick.

.....never marry a woman who is mean to your waitress.

Posts: 5024 | Location: Lake of the Ozarks, MO. | Registered: September 05, 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
His Royal Hiney
Picture of Rey HRH
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by PHPaul:
quote:
Originally posted by WaterburyBob:
Maybe the gain is set a little too high ? When I got my first set of hearing aids about eight years ago, I could hear dogs barking in the next county.
When I told the audiologist about how far away sounds were so pronounced, she made adjustments.

I think the balance is off a touch as well. IMO, the left side could go down a notch and the right side could go up one or even two.

I've had them just over a week now and I'll go several hours without even noticing. I'll wait out the full 8 weeks and if I still think the levels need tweaking, I'll mention it.

When I got my hearing aids at Costco, it included a fitting to make sure the sound levels were correct. I don't remember exactly but I think it was in two parts. The first part was with me giving feedback. Then the second part was a microphone to the hearing aid to test it electronically.