SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    When did it become an obligation for parents to fund their kids' college education?
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

When did it become an obligation for parents to fund their kids' college education? Login/Join 
Staring back
from the abyss
Picture of Gustofer
posted
Here's what was said when I graduated high school:

"You're 18. Adios. You're on your own."

And I replied, "WHOOOOOHOOOOO!!!!! See ya."

I stayed at home during the summers when I was fighting fire (paid rent), and went home for holidays, but otherwise? I was an adult, I was responsible for myself, and I was on my own to live my life with the foundation they gave me and to pay my own damn bills.

I have just over ten years of higher education under my belt, costing me in the low six figures. Not one thin dime of that money was paid by anyone other than me (excluding the paltry scholarships that I was eligible for as a single white guy). But, I hear people in my age bracket constantly whining and complaining about "having to" pay for their spawn's college. WTF?

If you can afford it, and it's in your heart to do so? Knock yourself out. Otherwise? STFU. I don't want to hear about how broke you are because you are supporting your ADULT children.

When the hell did this become an obligation and the thing to do? When kids started living in their parent's basements for years? When they began keeping them on their insurance until they're 26? When did parents begin to feel the need to go in the poorhouse supporting their kids well into adulthood? It damn sure wasn't when I came of age. We got the boot, and if we were lucky, a "Good Luck!".

I was at a BBQ with a group of folks from work the other day and one of the gals was complaining about having to pay for her son's Master's Degree at the University of Washington. Roll Eyes