SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Call from work at 0500.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Call from work at 0500. Login/Join 
Picture of rtquig
posted
Since retirement I am allowed by my pension system to work only 25 hours a week for any job that has a State pension system. I work as a substitute teacher in a high school vocational district.
This week I had been scheduled for 3.5 days at 7 hours per day. If I work 4 days in a week it's not a big deal unless I do that for more than 1 month straight. Sunday, I get booked, Thursday I can't work due to the schedule, and Friday is my half day which really doesn't pay to work a half day but I do try to work with them when they are in a jam if it is a school close by. This morning at 0500 the sub caller calls and asks if I want to work as a gym teacher today. I say yes, but that means I can't work the half day Friday. (They know the rules the pension board goes by, several of us are under the restriction), yet they can't look at a spread sheet and see I'm booked for the week? So on my day off I'm now awake and get to work around the house since once I'm awake I can't get back to sleep. I know this isn't the end of the world but heck, look at your book and let me sleep on my day off.

Living the Dream

Posts: 4015 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: December 06, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of SR
posted Hide Post
I'm surprised this hasn't happened to you more often. When my wife substituted we'd get early morning calls on days she was already scheduled.

Based on our experience, the person that schedules will never take the time to check their book for a possible conflict. Your name probably came up next on the list. They are just dialing to find a someone to cover the class.

Does your phone have a do not disturb function?

Speak softly and carry a big stick loaded Sig