SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Sleeping in class is now acceptable.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Sleeping in class is now acceptable. Login/Join 
Picture of rtquig
posted
Since I retired, I work several days a week for the vocational school district in our county. There are 7 different high schools in which I work as a substitute to have spending money.
For the last 2 days I was working in a Construction Trades class. I had several students in each class put their heads down and go to sleep. I woke them several times and told them I would be forced to call in the vice-principal if they would not stay awake, watch the videos and answer questions on each video.

They all went back to sleep, I called the vice-principal. She said the classroom was very hot and to cut them slack as long as they didn't disturb the other students.

So it is now okay to sleep in class? I called the woman that assigns me the jobs and told her to take me off the list for that school.

Living the Dream

Posts: 4011 | Location: New Jersey | Registered: December 06, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Big Stack
posted Hide Post
When I grew up, vocational classes were a dumping ground for kids who couldn't or wouldn't cut it academically in college prep classes. So no one cared about them.

It seems like 30-40 years later, nothing's changed.

Posts: 21240 | Registered: November 05, 2003Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Three Generations
of Service
Picture of PHPaul
posted Hide Post
Between 1997 and 2003, I worked as the IT support weenie for the local school system. One high school, 4 k-8 grammar schools.

I could never, repeat NEVER be a teacher. I damn near got fired a few times before I quit because I refuse to take shit from a snot-nosed kid.

I don't imagine that it's gotten any better. You're a better man than I am, Cap'n Quig...

Be careful when following the masses. Sometimes the M is silent.