SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Companies calling personal numbers to verify purchases made by a business
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Companies calling personal numbers to verify purchases made by a business Login/Join 
Recondite Raider
Picture of lizardman_u
posted
So this morning at 7:00 my wife texts me to call a number as the party who called her personal cell phone wanted to verify a purchase I placed for my workplace (I am a supply technician and credit card holder for McNary Lock and Dam, US Army Corps of Engineers).

I did not give them any of my personal contact information, and when I asked the associate of the vendor how she got my wife's number she said a "public records" search. I get why that number would come up as the phones are on my contract through Sprint.

The phone call to my wife came from the vendor's credit card department as they wanted to make sure the $3000.00 order was a legitimate purchase for a federal entity and wasn't a case of a fraudulent purchase.

I gave my work contact information to the sales representative when I place the order (work email, work phone, shipping and billing addresses for work). Why the search for contact information to verify the order wasn't made for the entity that placed the order (in my case McNary Lock & Dam, Umatilla, Oregon) or why the search wasn't for US Army Corps of Engineers, Umatilla, Oregon) is beyond me.

If I could get this item from a different vendor at a similar price I would cancel the order placed yesterday.

Some employees need to not be working in customer service.

I was getting the text from my wife to call that company (return their call) when that company called my work number (like they should have done to begin with).