SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Designers/Engineers that have never worked on anything
Page 1 2 3 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Designers/Engineers that have never worked on anything Login/Join 
Too old to run,
too mean to quit!
posted Hide Post
While working as an IBM customer engineer I had occasion to work on a lot of "state of the art" mainframe computer equipment. I second the idea that designers of such stuff should have to work in the customer's office for at least a year before allowed to design anything!

One classic (in my mind) example. A bank of disk drives (8 as I recall) in 4 stacks of 2 each. Which, of course necessitated having to work on the lower ones by laying on the floor about half of the time.

Drive motor for those devices weighed in at about 50 pounds. Said drive motor had to be installed from the BOTTOM! Bad enough for the upper drive, but pure hell on the lower one.

The new motor had to be laid sideways on the floor, slid under the drive, then tilted upright to fit into the cavity where it went. Then lifted into place and the mounting bolts installed from above. 2 man job. Should have been installed from above, there was plenty of room! Just one example of all that "wonderful" design work done by "engineers" who had never actually worked on anything other than a drawing board.

Elk

There has never been an occasion where a people gave up their weapons in the interest of peace that didn't end in their massacre. (Louis L'Amour)

"To compel a man to furnish contributions of money for the propagation of opinions which he disbelieves and abhors, is sinful and tyrannical. "
-Thomas Jefferson

"America is great because she is good. If America ceases to be good, America will cease to be great." Alexis de Tocqueville

FBHO!!!

The Idaho Elk Hunter

Posts: 25642 | Location: Virginia | Registered: December 16, 2001Reply With QuoteReport This Post
goodheart
Picture of sjtill
posted Hide Post