SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    I worked over 532 hours of overtime this year for FREE, and all I got was a 6-page thank you letter.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

I worked over 532 hours of overtime this year for FREE, and all I got was a 6-page thank you letter. Login/Join 
Conductor in Residence
Picture of Maestro
posted
Read my entire post before you decide to flame me. Smile

As many of you know, in addition to various other conducting duties around the Tampa Bay region, I am a choral/orchestral conductor for one of the most unique and recognized arts magnet high schools in the United States. But that really means that I'm a teacher for a public school.

This school year I decided to keep track of the hours that I spent outside of my contracted 40 hours per week. These hours represent rehearsals, competitions, concerts, outside smaller performances, and does NOT include extra time grading papers, returning phone calls and emails, and dealing with personnel issues (of which there were MANY this year). It totaled over 532 hours, most of which was spent on my own campus.

532 hours, all for free.

And all I got was a 6-page handwritten thank you note.

This thank you note was from a young lady who graduated this past weekend. She told me some things about her personal life that I didn't know after having her as a student for four years. In a nutshell, she had always feared males of my age because of an abusive older male in her life, and she thanked me for being the father that she never knew she could have.

This wasn't my only accolade this year, as I receive many letters like this from students each year (all of which I keep).

And this makes the 532+ hours since August worth every second. Please know that I am NOT complaining about all of the extra time (which my thread title would lead you to believe), nor am I posting this to try to elicit a bunch of "thank you for doing what you do" posts from fellow members.