SIGforum.com    Main Page  Hop To Forum Categories  What's Your Deal!    Help! I have had it with AT&T landline, Alternative?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Help! I have had it with AT&T landline, Alternative? Login/Join 
posted
My landline is down & the earlyiest service appointment is Fri 25th
Situation;
1) 3 story townhome with detached garage, so I need a phone on each floor
2) I need inexpensive international calling, outgoing & incoming
3) I need fax service because IRS will only accept faxed communications
4) I work as a CPA out of my townhome & need instant client communication
5) I have only one cell phone number & despise carrying it around the home

Suggestions? The problem seems to be getting the incoming international calls at a reasonable rate on a cell phone. I pay $.04 a minute to Europe currently on my landline for outgoing & $0 for international incoming.

If you can't dazzle them with brilliance, baffle them with bullshit!

Sigs Owned - A Bunch

Posts: 4263 | Location: Nashville, Tennessee | Registered: December 16, 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
posted Hide Post
You can check into the newer landline - was ATT UVerse, not sure what it is called now.

As for your cell phone - there are several units at Costco that allow you to connect your cell phone as a line to it. You can answer both your landline and cell line from the handsets.

Posts: 2771 | Location: Northern California | Registered: December 01, 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Picture of BDA220
posted Hide Post
I have had VOIP for a few years now, and it is OK, does require good internet service, and a good VOIP carrier. You will have to find a carrier that supports FAX, as some do not.

"Strange days have found us, strange days have tracked us down." JM

Posts: 807 | Location: Pacific NW | Registered: September 21, 2010Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Not really from Vienna
Picture of arfmel
posted Hide Post